Skip to main content

The Commissioners

The FWC's seven Commissioners are appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Florida Senate to five-year terms. Their constitutional duty is to exercise the "...regulatory and executive powers of the state with respect to wild animal life and fresh water aquatic life and shall also exercise regulatory and executive powers of the state with respect to marine life, except that all license fees and penalties for violating regulations shall be as provided by law."

Commissioners meet five times per year at various locations across the state.
Visit the Commission Meetings page for access to schedules, agendas, and minutes.

Terms in Office

Member Current Term Began Original Appointment Term Expires

Robert A. Spottswood, Chair

Jan.12, 2018 Sept. 2, 2015 Jan. 6, 2023

Michael W. Sole, Vice Chair

May 12, 2017 May 12, 2017 Aug. 1, 2021

Joshua Kellam

Feb. 2, 2018 Feb. 2, 2018 Jan. 5, 2024

Gary Lester

Jan. 12, 2018 Jan. 12, 2018 Jan. 12, 2023

Gary Nicklaus

Dec. 1, 2017 Dec. 1, 2017 Aug. 1, 2022

Sonya Rood

Dec. 1, 2017 Dec. 1, 2017 Jan. 2, 2022


Email all the Commissioners at one time or email an individual Commissioner by clicking on their name below and visiting their profile.