Marine Life Endorsement Transfers
Transfer Period: The transfer period opens May 1 and continues until the end of the following February.
Who is eligible: For a standard transfer, there are no special eligibility requirements. In the event of death or disability of the endorsement holder, the endorsement may be transferred to an immediate family member within 12 months of the date of death or disability. The Marine Life Non-Transferable endorsement can only be transferred to an immediate family member upon death or disability.
- Immediate family is defined as mother, father, sister, brother, spouse, son, daughter, step-father, step-mother, step-son, step-daughter, half-sister, half-brother, son-in-law or daughter-in-law of the endorsement holder.
Transfer Fees: None
Surcharge Fees: None
Seller Requirements: The seller must have a current Saltwater Products License (SPL) and Restricted Species (RS) and Marine Life (MLD, MLB) endorsements during the fiscal year of the transfer. The seller must have paid all outstanding fees owed to the FWC and there must be no holds on the seller’s account. The seller must surrender the SPL card with the Marine Life endorsement to the FWC at the time of transfer.
Buyer Requirements: The buyer must have an SPL and RS paid for through the fiscal year of the transfer, and have paid all outstanding fees owed to the FWC. There must no holds on the buyer’s account. The buyer will be responsible for purchasing the MLD or MLB endorsement at the time of transfer.
- Buyer may submit applications for the SPL and RS endorsement with the transfer application.
Required Documents: A transfer application (postmarked within 72 hours of being notarized) and check or money order for fees and the seller's current SPL with Marine Life endorsement. Proof of relationship (birth certificates and/or marriage licenses), copy of death certificate or proof of disability required for any immediate family transfers or due to death or disability.
What Transfers: The Marine Life endorsement.
A complete copy of the applicable rules can be found in Chapter 379, Florida Statutes and Chapters 68B and 68E, Florida Administrative Code.