Skip to main content

Class II Wildlife

What is Class II wildlife?

Class II wildlife is a defined list of species that are considered to present a real or potential threat to human safety. Possession of Class II wildlife for personal or commercial purposes requires a permit. Substantial experience requirements and specific cage requirements must be met before a permit will be issued.

Species which are designated as Class II are:

African golden cats (Profelis aurata)

Bobcats (Lynx rufus)

Caracals (Caracal caracal)

Clouded leopards (Neofelis nebulosa)

European/Canadian lynx (Lynx lynx)

Fishing cats (Prionailurus viverrina)

Ocelots (Leopardus pardalis)

Servals (Leptailurus serval)

Temminck's golden cats (Profelis temmincki)

Alligators (family Alligatoridae)

Caimans (except black caimans)

Dwarf crocodiles (Osteolaemus tetraspis)

Douc langurs (genus Pygathrix)

Guenons (genus Ceropithecus)

Guereza monkeys (genus Colobus)

Langurs (genus Presbytis)

Macaques and Celebes black apes (genus Macaca)

Mangabeys (genus Cercocebus)

Patas monkeys (genus Erythrocebus)

Proboscis monkeys (genus Nasalis)

Snub-nosed langurs (genus Phinopithecus)

Vervet, Grivet or Green monkeys (genus Chlorocebus)

Giraffes (genus Giraffa)

Okapis (genus Okapia)


Wild cattle; forest, woodland and aridland antelope; and similar species of non-native hoofstock to include: Forest buffalo, Banteng, Anoa, Waterbuck, Wildebeest, Hartebeest, Eland, Kudu, Nilgai, Bongo, lechwe, Roan and Sable antelope, Sitatunga, Bontebok, Blesbok, Topi, Kob, Addax, Oryx, Gemsbok, and other wild species of the family Bovidae which are of similar size, habits and nature.

Howler monkeys (genus Alouatta)

Sakis (genus Chiropotes and Pithecea)

Uakaris (genus Cacajao)

Indris (genus Indri)

African hunting dogs (Lycaon pictus)

Coyotes (Canis latrans)

Indian dholes (Cuon alpinus)


Wolves (Canis lupus), including high content wolf-dogs (see FAQs for further information regarding hybrids)

American badgers (Taxides taxus)

Honey badgers (Mellivora capensis)

Old World badgers (Meles meles)

Wolverines (Gulo gulo)

Binturongs (Arctictis binturong)

Cassowary (Casuarius)

Ostrich (Struthio camelus)


A permit is required to possess any Class II species. Follow the links below for more information about permitting for different activities:

Requirements for possession of Class II wildlife

  • Anyone wishing to possess Class II species must document 1000 hours of experience working with the species they would like to possess or other species in same biological family and the same or higher Class of wildlife. The experience must span at least one calendar year. The experience documentation must show 1000 hours of practical experience in feeding, handling, care, and husbandry of animals in the same biological family and Class of the animal(s) being requested. Anyone wishing to document their experience hours may use this sample log or any other format (excel sheet, word document, etc.) as long as the description of experience is detailed and the hours are countable, totaling at least 1000 hours.
    • Experience documentation must be submitted per biological family of wildlife requested, except cougars and cheetahs (which are regulated separately on the genus level), crocodilians (which are regulated on the biological order level) and ratites (which are regulated on the biological sub-order level).
  • Anyone wishing to possess Class II species must obtain two letters of reference regarding their experience as described above. One letter must be from a Florida permit holder for the wildlife being applied for (preferably the permit holder overseeing the experience) or a representative of a professional organization or governmental institution, including veterinarians. Both letters must be from individuals with firsthand knowledge of the documented experience and must reference such experience in their letter.

Anyone wishing to possess the above wildlife must pass a facility and caging inspection before a permit will be issued. More information regarding specific caging requirements is on our Rules and Regulations page.

  • Class II species must be housed on properties which are at least 2.5 acres (see next tab for exceptions).
  • Class II species must be housed on properties which are either owned or leased by the applicant (see next tab for exceptions).
  • Facilities housing Class II species must contain a “buffer zone” of at least 35 feet between caged wildlife and the facility property line.
  • Facilities housing Class II wildlife must be bound by a fence which is at least 8 feet high, or 6 feet high with a 2-foot, 45 degree, inward angle overhang (see next tab for exceptions).

The following Class II wildlife is exempt from the facility requirements related to acreage, ownership/lease of the property, buffer zones, and perimeter fencing:

  • Class II carnivores until they reach 25 pounds or 6 months of age, whichever comes first
  • Class II primates until they reach 12 months of age
  • Crocodilians 4 feet in length or less
  • Cats: ocelots, servals, caracals, bobcats, African golden cats, Temminck’s golden cats, and fishing cats
  • Non-human primates: uakaris, sakis, and guenons (except patas monkeys, De Brazza’s monkeys, blue monkeys, Preuss’s monkeys, or any other member of Cercopithecus which exceeds the normal adult weight of 14 pounds on average for the species)

Any Class II wildlife exempt from meeting the facility requirements must still meet the following:

  • Class II wildlife shall not be possessed in multi-unit dwellings unless the dwelling in which they are housed is equipped with private entrance, exit and yard area.
  • A fence sufficient to deter entry by the public, which shall be a minimum of five (5) feet in height, shall be present around the premises wherein Class II animals are housed or exercised outdoors.

Contact Information

If you have any questions, please contact the Captive Wildlife Office.

Phone: (850) 488-6253
Mail: Captive Wildlife Office, 620 S Meridian Street, Tallahassee, FL 32399