Skip to main content

FWC Division of Law Enforcement Northeast Region

Northeast Region

The Northeast Region’s 12 counties include St. Johns on the north end, down to Indian River on the east coast and west over to Sumter, and contains 36 wildlife management areas, one national forest, water management district lands and numerous state parks and preserves. This region is a combination of urban and rural environments. The northern reaches of the region provide some of the best turkey and deer hunting and freshwater fishing opportunities in the state. The southern counties of the region provide excellent duck hunting and boast a healthy population of Osceola turkeys, a sub-species of turkey sought out by hunters from around the United States. The coastal counties of this region make up the largest coastline of any FWC region and provide some of the best inshore and offshore fishing in Florida.