Skip to main content

Florida Boating Advisory Council

Member Information

The Boating Advisory Council (BAC) was created within the FWC by section 327.803, Florida Statutes. The BAC consists of 18 members - including representatives from the Florida Legislature, boating-related organizations and 11 members appointed by the Governor. The purpose of the council is to make recommendations to the FWC and the Department of Economic Opportunity regarding issues affecting the boating community.

About the Council


Non-Motorized Boat Working Group


Name Group Represented
Mr. Robert Atkins Boating Public
Mr. Chris Castelli Boating Public
Ms. Rebecca Bragg Canoe or Kayak Enthusiasts
Mr. Robert Spaeth Commercial Fishing Industry
Mr. Christopher Shaffner Commercial Vessel Owners/Operators
Mr. Brad Richardson Department of Environmental Protection
Colonel Curtis Brown Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission
Representative Jay Trumbull Florida House of Representatives
Mr. Mark Crosley Florida Inland Navigation District
Senator Travis Hutson Florida Senate
Mr. David Hankla Manatee Protection Interests
Mr. Hans Wilson Marine Industries
Mr. Joseph Lyshon Marine Manufacturers
Mr. Adam Boatana Marine Special Events
Mr. Michael Shuler Scuba Diving Industry
Mr. William Griswold U.S. Coast Guard Auxiliary
Mr. William Husted U.S. Power Squadrons/America's Boating Club
Mr. David Childs Water-related Environmental Groups