Skip to main content

Redfish Workshops

Scheduled for October. Share your input on this important fishery with us.

Save the Date
Redfish Summit 2021 logo

The Redfish Summit was hosted in August 2021 and focused on redfish biology and management in Florida, including a presentation on an updated stock assessment, information about habitat and water quality, and interactive discussions about future management of the fishery.

Watch a recorded version at TheFloridaChannel.org

 

7:30 a.m. Registration check-in begins

Opening Remarks

8:30 a.m. Welcome and opening remarks Jessica McCawley & Stuart Cumberbatch           

8:35 a.m. Housekeeping Stuart Cumberbatch

What is the Status of Redfish in Florida?

8:45 a.m. How anglers contribute to fisheries research and management Melissa Crouch & Sarah Burnsed

9:05 a.m. Redfish biology & sustainability Sue Barbieri

9:30 a.m. 2020 Florida redfish stock assessment & fishery Dustin Addis                        

10:00 a.m. Break

10:20 a.m. Redfish management in Florida Jessica McCawley & Luiz Barbieri

Habitat Conservation & Restoration

10:40 a.m. Exploring the relationships between pollutant loads, water quality, & fisheries habitats in Florida's Estuary Programs Dave Tomasko

11:05 a.m. Overview of FWC estuarine habitat restoration & research Caroline Gorga & Kent Smith  

11:30 a.m. Panel discussion & audience questions Stuart Cumberbatch     

12:15 p.m. Pre-Summit survey results & preview of afternoon session Erika Burgess                               

12:30 p.m. Lunch

Participant Feedback on Redfish in Florida & Staff Engagement

2:00 p.m. Break-out session Multiple Staff

4:00 p.m. Dot exercise & staff engagement All Staff & Participants

5:00 p.m. Adjourn

Jessica McCawley, Director, Division of Marine Fisheries Management, FWC (850) 487-0554  Jessica.McCawley@MyFWC.com  

Stuart Cumberbatch, Facilitator, FWC, (850) 617-6008, Stuart.Cumberbatch@MyFWC.com 

Sarah Burnsed, Research Associate, Fish and Wildlife Research Institute, Florida FWC, (727) 502-4818, Sarah.Burnsed@MyFWC.com 

Melissa Crouch, Biological Administrator, Division of Marine Fisheries Management, Florida FWC, (850) 487-0554, Melissa.Crouch@MyFWC.com  

Sue Barbieri, Research Scientist, Fish and Wildlife Research Institute, Florida FWC, (727) 502-4930, Sue.Lowerre-Barbieri@MyFWC.com  

 

Dustin Addis, Research Administrator, Fish and Wildlife Research Institute, Florida FWC, (727) 502-4935, Dustin.Addis@MyFWC.com  

Dave Tomasko, PhD, Executive Director, Sarasota Bay Estuary Program, (941) 955-8085, Dave@sarasotabay.org   

Caroline Gorga, Habitat Research Administrator, Fish and Wildlife Research Institute, Florida FWC, (727) 502-4794, Caroline.Gorga@MyFWC.com  

Kent Smith, Biological Administrator, Habitat and Species Conservation Division, Florida FWC, (850) 617-9504, Kent.Smith@MyFWC.com  

Erika Burgess, Section Leader, Division of Marine Fisheries Management, Florida FWC, (850) 487-0554, Erika.Burgess@MyFWC.com  

Questions?