News Releases

Hunter safety course in Miami-Dade County

News Release

Wednesday, April 16, 2014

Media contact: Katie Johnson, 561-882-5709

The Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission (FWC) will host a free hunter safety course April 25-27 in Miami-Dade County. Students must attend all three days of the course.

On April 25, the course runs from 6-10 p.m. On the 26th, it starts at 8 a.m. and will last until 6 p.m. The last day starts at 6:30 a.m. and ends at 8 a.m.

Students will learn about hunting laws, safe gun handling and hunter ethics/responsibility, among other topics, before taking the final test. The course also includes live-firing instruction on a shooting range.

The class will be held at Camp Redlands, 15415 S.W. 256th Street in Miami.

Participants can sign up at or by calling the FWC’s South Region Office at 561-625-5122. Links to the course and a statewide schedule of hunter safety classes are available at

Parents or legal guardians must accompany children under 16 years of age to all classes. To participate in live-fire exercises, children under 18 years old must present a parental release form signed by a parent or legal guardian.

Anyone born on or after June 1, 1975, must pass an approved hunter safety course and have a hunting license to hunt alone (unsupervised).

FWC Facts:
You must be at least 18 years of age to rent a personal watercraft in Florida.

Learn More at AskFWC