CLS_small_banner

Marine Life (MLD, MLB, MLN) Endorsement

Buying and Selling Endorsements


Transfer Period:  The transfer period is opens May 1st and continues until the end of February.

Who is eligible? For a Standard transfer, there are no special eligibility requirements.  In the event of death or disability of the tag holder, the endorsement may be transferred to an immediate family member within 12 months of the date of death or disability.  The Marine Life Non Transferrable endorsement can only be transferred to an immediate family member upon death or disability.

  • Immediate family is defined as Mother, Father, Sister, Brother, Spouse, Son, Daughter, Step-Son, Step-Daughter, Step-Father, Step-Mother, Son-In-Law, Daughter-In-Law, Half-Sister, or Half-Brother of seller.

Transfer Fees: None

Surcharge Fees: None

Seller Requirements: The seller must have current Saltwater Products License (SPL), Restricted Species endorsement (RS), Marne Life Endorsement (MLD, MLB) current for the fiscal year of the transfer. The seller must have paid all outstanding fees owed to FWC.  There must be any holds on the seller’s account, must surrender SPL card with the Marine Life endorsement to FWC at the time of transfer.

Buyer Requirements: The buyer must have SPL and RS paid up through the fiscal year of the transfer, and have paid all outstanding fees owed to FWC.  There must not be any holds on the buyer’s account.  Buyer will be responsible for purchasing the MLD or MLB endorsement at the time of transfer.

  • Buyer may submit applications for the SPL and RS endorsement with the transfer application.

Required Documents: Transfer Application (must be postmarked within 72 hours of being notarized), check or money order for fees and the sellers current SPL with Marine Life endorsement.  Proof of relationship (birth certificates and/or marriage licenses), copy of death certificate or proof of disability required for any immediate family transfers or due to death or disability.

What Transfers: The endorsement. 

A complete copy of the applicable rules can be found in Chapter 379, Florida StatutesExternal Website and Chapters 68B and 68E, Florida Administrative CodeExternal Website, or by contacting the licensing program.

 

 

 



FWC Facts:
Just like fish, blue crabs use gills to breathe. But unlike fish, blue crabs can survive out of water for over 24 hours, as long as their gills are kept moist.

Learn More at AskFWC